Good For You!

Congratulations to:

The Honorable Cole Adams Maier of Winchester, appointed Circuit Judge for the 25th Judicial Circuit, Division 2.

Thien-Kim T. Tran of the Fayette County Schools Police Department, who graduated from the basic training academy of the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

Roxanne Lockard of the Craft Academy at Great Crossing High School, Joy Ntakarutimana of Tate Creek High School, and Logan Justice of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, all named to the 2021-2022 Commissioner’s Student Advisory Council for the Kentucky Department of Education.

Two University of Kentucky graduates who have been offered Fulbright U.S. Student Program scholarships:  Schuyler Baas, who will teach in Spain and lead a Model United Nations Program, and Clarissa Grace Sommers, who will pursue graduate studies in Ireland.

Stephanie Isaac Blain of Lexington, awarded the 2021 National Young Engineer of the Year award by the National Society of Professional Engineers.

Michael D. Bardo, professor of psychology at UK, the 2021 recipient of the Albert D. Kirwan Memorial Prize.

These overall winners in the 2020-21 Reflections cultural arts program:  Olivia Moynahan of Glendover, Primary Dance choreography; King El-Amin of Dixie, Intermediate film production, Lily McCaffrey of Picadome, Primary Literature; Naren Nandanoor of Beaumont, Middle Literature; Becca Boles of Wellington, Primary music composition; Zaria Barber of Dixie, Intermediate music composition; Cecilia Meehan of Stonewall, Intermediate Photography; and Elissa Lawnd of Beaumont, Middle photography.

Dr. Charles Kunos, named medial director of the University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center Clinical Research Office.

Shaela Worsley of Richmond, appointed to the Juvenile Justice Advisory Board.

Mark T. Fillmore, University of Kentucky professor psychology, the 2021 recipient of the William B. Sturgill Award.

University of Kentucky advisor Jennifer Riggs Doerge from the College of Engineering, awarded the Ken Freedman Outstanding Advisor Award.