Good For You!

Congratulations to:

The University of Kentucky National Champion Volleyball Team.  Head Coach Craig Skinner was named AVCA National Coach of the Year, while Madison Lilley was named AVCA National Player of the Year.  Maddie Berezowitz won an NCAA Elite 90 award given to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s championships.

Tony Lacy, named Vice President of Sales at Keeneland.

Gail Goestenkors, a Women’s Basketball Hall of Famer who joins the UK women’s basketball staff as an assistant coach.

University of Kentucky junior Madeline Williams, awarded a Fulbright Canada-MITACS Globalink Research Internship.  She’ll use the internship to do research in the social sciences.

Shea Conley of Lexington, appointed to the Bluegrass Community and Technical College Nominating Commission.

Transylvania students Savannah Lambert and Jordan Strouse, awarded Fulbright grants to serve as Enlish teaching assistants abroad.

These Fayette County students awarded scholarships through the Urban League of Lexington’s Academic Challenge II program:

Eastern Kentucky University scholarships for third graders:

Areej Al-Khaled, Yunia Emilia Huffman and Prikash Kharel, Glendover

Charlie Tracy, Dixie Magnet

Eric Noh, Meadowthorpe

Leyla Tatum, Millcreek

Morehead State University scholarships for fourth graders:

Janelle Dang and Charlotte Pham, Tates Creek

Ishaan Joshi, Yangzi Liu, and Havi Sheth, Meadowthorpe

Jennifer Sangabriel-Carmona, Mary Todd

Bluegrass Community and Technical College Scholarships for fifth graders:

Kolton Adkins, Sandersville

Demarie Afuseh, Coventry Oak

Reginae Beavers, Yates

Zoe Davis, and Rhys Fraser Tates Creek

Miranda Soto Martinez, Dixie Magnet

Urban League of Lexington scholarships for eighth graders:

Jamontie Lamb, Natalie Helm, Sohan Parsi, and Elyse Sparks, Leestown

Bradyn Dean, Tates Creek Middle

Addison Wright, Bryan Station Middle

Dr. Vincent Sorrell, director of Advanced Cardiovascular Imaging at UK’s Gill Heart and Vascular Institute, who will become editor-in-chief of CASE, an international cardiovascular imaging case reports journal.

Hannah Cleary, an Agricultural and Medical Biotechnology major at the University of Kentucky, chosen to participate in the NIH funded Kidney Undergraduate Research Experience this summer.

These Tates Creek seniors, winners of National Merit corporate scholarships:

Megan Ewing, the Parker Hannifin Scholarship

Catherine Lucier, the Battell Scholarsip

These University Students awarded Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships:

Kayli Bolton, Zoe Hert and Carly Karrick

Tina Haggard, school office administrator for The Academy for leadership at Millcreek Elementary, who received the KASA Office Professional Award from the Kentucky Association of School Administrators.

Kent Mullins, appointed operations supervisor for Kentucky American Water’s Central and Southern divisions.

These first place winners from the Paul Laruence Dunbar FBLA club during the 2021 Future Business Leaders of America virtual state awards ceremony:

Business Communications–McKenna Sun

Introduction to Business Presentation–Jason Chen, Aaron HuSun and Jeffery Li

Management Decision Making–Anna Chen, Sarah Ming and McKenna Sun

Publication Design–Katie Yang

Margaret Mohr-Schroeder, associate dean for clinical preparation and partnerships at the University of Kentucky College of Education, elected president of the School Science and Mathematics Association.