Good For You!

Congratulations to:

University of Kentucky College of Fine Arts Dean Mark Shanda, named KMEA Administrator of the Year by the Kentucky Music Educators Association.

Kate Hastings, a fourth grader at Cassidy Elementary, who received the KAGE Distinguished Student Award for 2019-20 by the Kentucky Association for Gifted Education.

Denise Minor of Henry Clay High School, one of 28 teachers nationwide named a NASA Ariborne Astronomy Ambassador, a professional development program for high school science teachers designed to improve science teaching and increase student learning.

These drivers named to the UPS Circle of Honor for 25 or more years of accident-free driving:  Timothy Beaven, Lexington; Gregory Curtis, Lexington; Michael Dickerson, Nicholasville; Timothy Higbee, Wilmore; Mason Middendorf, Winchester, Robert Morris, Lexington, Bruce Simmerman, Lexington, Kent Wharton, Lexington.

Alexandra Seesee, a sophomore at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, who took first place in the Optimist Club of Lexington’s 2019-20 Essay contest.

Kentucky men’s basketball player Immanuel Quickly, named SEC Player of the Week.

Diver Van McKinley of Henry Clay High School, gold-medalist in the KHSAA 2020 State Swimming and Diving Championships.

University of Kentucky senior Hannah Thomas, one of the first awarded a Fulbright Canada-MITACS Globalink Research Internship.

Bass clarinetist Carson Kitts of Henry Clay and bass percussionist Sarah Howell of Lafayette, named to participate in the Bands of America Honor Band in the Rose Parade next New Year’s Day.

Dr. Eve Schneider, assistant professor in UK’s Department of Biology, named a 2020 Sloan Research Fellow.

Dr. Suzanne Smith, Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, names a 2020 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Fellow.

Dr. R. Kip Guy, Dean of the College of Pharmacy and Dr. Subbararo Bondad, proffessor in the Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics at UK, named 2019 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows.