Good For You!

Congratulations to:

These service academy nominees, named by Sen. Rand Paul:

Thomas Ward of Lexington, Air Force Academy

James Clay Fiscus, Castor Grande, Pollux Grande, all from Lexington, all to the Merchant Marine Academy

Wil Green, Wilmore, U.S. Military Academy

John Grant Nolen, Nicholasville and Tyler Smith, Lexington, Naval Academy.

Lucy Gentry, Marisa Aull and Chrysanthia Carr-Seals of Lexington, named to the Kentucky Commission on Women.

Ashley Runyon, who becomes director of the University Press of Kentucky on March 11.

The 2020 Miss KY Basketball candidates, including Kennedy Igo of George Rogers Clark and Malea Williams of Scott County.

The 2020 Mr. KY Basketball candidates, including Amirion Joyce of Bourbon County and Marques Warrick of Henry Clay.

Richard Eisert of Lexington,appointed to the Governor’s Advisory Board fo Veterans’ Affairs.

Eve Schneider, assistant professor in the University of Kentucky College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Biology, named a 2020 Sloan Research Fellow.

Venessa Birch, office lead, CHI Saint Joseph Medical Group, named Employee of the Year.  And Kyle Howard, manager, Clinical Informatics, CHI Saint Joseph Medical Group, named Leader of the Year.

Michael Moreno of Eastern Kentucky University’s Mens Basketball Team, named OVC Freshman of the Week.

These Champions in the Kentucky High School Speech League’s 2020 Bluegrass Regional Tournament, Junior Division:

Holly Taylor, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Radio Broadcasting and Declamation.

Parker Olukalns, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Dramatic Interpretation.

Annelise Brown & Eloise Logsdon, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Duo Acting

Magdalena Colby, Extemporaneous Speaking

Aina Marti, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Humorous Interpretation and storytelling

Sophie Watson, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Impromptu Speaking

Evan Riegert & Owen Scott, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Improvisational Duo

Nina Tay, SCAPA at Bluegass, Oratory

Lily Bramble, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Poetry

Harper Crosby, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Prose.

These Champions in the Kentucky High School Speech League’s 2020 Bluegrass Regional Tournament, Senior Division:

Emily Hu, Dunbar, Declamation

Nyasha Musoni & Sanaa Kahloon, Dunbar, Duo Interpretation

Cole Knight, Henry Clay, Extemporaneous Speaking

Grace Grigsby, Henry Clay, Humorous Interpretation

Sadie Bograd, Dunbag, Impromptu Speaking

Skylar Seavey & Kathuure Miriti of Lafayette, Improvisational Duo

Sophia Li, Henry Clay, Informative Speaking

Parker Smith, Dunbar, Oratory

Abby Burns, Henry Clay, Poetry

Sanaa Kahloon, Dunbar, Program Oral Interpretation

Lindsey Guilford, Henry Clay, Prose

Irving Morris, Dunbar, Storytelling.

All 82 UK student-athletes who earned a place on the 2019 Fall Sport SEC Academic Honor Roll.