Good For You!

Congratulations to:

Noela Botaka of Lexington, a biology major at the University of Louisville, awarded a Fulbright to conduct research in Belgium.

Elizabeth Turner of Versailles, apolitical science and Spanish major at the University of Louisville, given an Irvin F. and Alice S. Etscorn International Summer Research Award to take part in an Arabic language program in Jordan.

Tom Eade, named senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer at Lexmark.

Lexington Legends left hand pitcher Austin Cox, named South Atlantic League Pitcher of the Week.

These award-winners in the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Food and Environment:

Clare Rittschof, assistant professor of entomology, given the Prestigious Research Paper Award.

Nicholas Teets, assistant professor of entomology, given the Bobby Pass Excellence in Grantmanship Award.

Bernhard Henning, profess in animal and food sciences, and Dawn Brewer, assistan professor in dietetics and human nutrition received the Research-Extension Impact Award.

Hongyan Zhu, professor in plant and soil sciences received the Thomas Poe Cooper Research Award.

Tates Creek High School baseball team, KHSAA State Champions for 2019.

These Naqtional Merit College-sponsored scholarship winners:

From Henry Clay: Christopher Beebout, Lucas Etter and Kathleen Joseph.

From Lafayette: Catherine Donson, Valerie Langdorf, Michael Lozovoy, Kyrsten Myrup and Anna Marie Watrous.

From Paul Laurence Dunbar: Katrina Baniak, Marlene Broady, Madison Costes, Andrew Du, Kevin Jing, Caitlin LaBianca, Ashley Rowell, Jacob Styner and Olivia Tussey

From Tates Creek: Samuel Wyse

These first-place winners at the 2019 KHSAA Class 3A State Track Meet:


Rosalynd Hollings, Tates Creek, 100 dash

Tates Creek, 4X200 relay (Myann Davidson, Naturi Robinson, Alex Smith, Rosalynd Hollingsworth

Jenna Strange, Tates Creek, 1600 run

Naturi Robinson, Tates Creek, 300 hurdles

Jenna Strange, Tates Creek, 3200 run


Langston Jackson, Henry Clay, 100 dash

Henry Clay, 4X200 relay (Kobie Neal, Chris Dabney II, Langston Jackson, Ramond Jackson

Henry Clay, 4X100 relay (Chris Dabney, Ari Crutchfield, Langston Jackson, Ramond Jackson

William Wharton, Lafayette, 400 dash

Langston Jackson, Henry Clay, 200 dash

Christian Lewis, Douglass, Long jump

Isaiah Allen, Douglass, Triple Jump

Matt Halpin of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, winner of the boys singles title in the 2019 KHSAA state tennis championships.

Julian Vasquz Heilig, named dean of the college of Education at the University of Kentucky.

Marissa Aull, named director of the University of Kentucky Nutrition Education Program.

These Lexington Legends, named to the South Atlantic League Southern Division All-Star Team:

Right hand pitcher Jonathan Bowln, Left hand pitcher Austin Cox, right hand pitcher Jon Heasley, center fielder Michael Gigliotti and designated hitter Chase Vallot.

Dr. Karen Hill, chief operating officer and chief nursing officer for Baptist Health Lexington, and Glenn Leveridge, president of Central Bank’s Winchester market.  They’ve been named to Kentucky American Water’s Board of Directors.

University of Kentucky President Eli Capilouto, named president of the Southeastern Conference.

Crisann McCloy of the University of Kentucky, presented with the Young Professional Award from the National Association of Educational Procurement.