Good For You!

Congratulations to:

Madeline Mitchell of Lexington, who attends Indiana University.  She’s been appointed a Library of Congress Junior Fellow, a summer intern program.  Mitchell will be assigned to the Library’s Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division.

Joni House, manager of Perryville Battlefield State Historic Site, presented the Shelby Foot Preservation Legacy Award by the American Battlefield Trust.  The Trust also presented its State Leadership Award to the Kentucky Heritage Land Conservation Fund and Kentucky State Parks.

Castle & Key in Woodford County, along with founding partners Wes Murry and Will Arvin, given a Preservation Project Award from the Kentucky Heritage Council and State Historic Preservation Office.

Carol Hyatt of Lansdowne Elementary, named Fayette County’s 2018-19 Outstanding Educator by Central Kentucky Education Cooperative.

Junior Beta Club at Edyth J. Hayes Middle School, given 2019 All Star Service status by the National Beta Club.  The status recognizes groups whose members volunteer 50 to 75 hours serving their school, community and state.

Jay Miller, named next dean of the College of Social Work at the University of Kentucky.

UK’s Mitch Barnhard, named Athletic Director of the Year by the Sports Business Journal.

Christian Fiero, coaching video coordinator for football at UK, winner of the 2018-2019 Bob Matey National Video Coordinator of the Year by the Collegiate Sports Video Association.

Jennifer Greer, named Dean of the College of Communication and Information at UK.

These First Place winners in the KET Young Writers Contest:  Hannah McGregor, SCAPA at Bluegrass, Allie Neltner of Beaumont Middle School and Marco Garcia Lopez of Leestown Middle School.

Rosemary Carruthers, Youth Salute’s 2019 Lexington Youth Leader of the Year.

These winners of the 2019 FCEA Award for Teaching Excellence:  Chasity Ogle of Squires Elementary, Jennifer Cook of Southern Middle School and Caroline Morales of STEAM Academy.

Abby Blackburn, Transylvania University’s Female Athlete of the Year.

These First-Place winners at the 2019 KTCCCA Middle School State Track Championship:

Jon Horton of Hayes, 100 dash

Hayes 4X200 relay team

Beaumont 4X400 Relay team

Bienvenu Mutayongwa of Winburn, Long jump

Ayann Darrington of LTMSm, 100 hurdles

Sanaa Washington of LTMS, 200 Dash