Good For You!

Congratulations to:

These First-place winners at the Technology Student Association’s 2019 regional competition:

From Southern Middle School: William Allen, Career Prep, Davis Miller and Philip Lamartiniere, Challenging Technology Issues; Evan Wyse, Children’s Stories; Philip Lamartiniere, Digital Photography; Hope Meyers, Flight; Andrew Fraser, Brooks Theis, Bryce Schaffer, Davis Miller, Luke Day and Mason Bowling, Inventions and Innovations; Davis Miller, Prepared Speech; Caden Tobin and Lucas Wright, Problem Solving; Elijah Eppley, Promotional Marketing; Hope Meyers and Philip Lamartiniere, Structural Engineering; Brooks Theis, Davis Miller and Luke Jacobs, Tech Bowl; Alayna Fraser and Philip Lamartiniere, Technical Design; Lucas Poynter and William Allen, Video Game Design.

From Lafayette High School: Ian Sexton, Architectural CADD; McKayle Weaver, Prepared Presentation.

From Paul Laurence Dunbar High School: Branden Gray and Jackson Silence, Digital Video Procutsion; Erin Stratton, Katie Pack, and Lina Mueez, On-Demand Video; Davis Johnson, Promotional Design.

From STEAM Academy:  Jayla Pence, Dragster Design; Micaela Niebuhr Mauricio, Photographic Technology, Jackson Franklin and Trevor Martion, Structural Design and Engineering.  Gabriel Portugal Ticona and Jean Carlos Sanchez, Technology Problem Solving; Jackson Franklin, Trevor martion and Nathaniel Morris, Video Game Design.

These first-place winners from Paul Laurcnec Dunbar High School at the Kentucky Educational Speech and Drama Association’s 2019 state tournament:

Sanaa Kahloon, Declamation; Andrew Liu, Humorous Interpretation; Sadie Bograd, Impromptu; and Brian She and Ashley Su, and Stephen Yin and Stephanie Yang, co-champions in Public Forum Debate.

Rachel Klinker of Tates Creek High School, winner of the 200 yard and 500 yard freestyle races at the 2019 KHSAA State Swimming and Diving Championships.

Heidi Anderson of Locuts Trace AgriScience Center and Ashley Rosen of the STEAM Academy, chosen for the 2019 NASA Airborne Astronomy Ambassadors program.

Sarah Payne, orchestra director at Bryan Station Middle School, named 2019 Outstanding Director grades K-12 from the Kentucky Chapter of the American String Teachers Assocaition.

Dr. James Lewis Borders of Georgetown and Dr. Sean M. McTigue of Lexington, named to the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Advisory Committee.

Nicholas Skidmore, first place winner in the Lexington League of Women Voters’ 2019 essay contest.  His essay, “The Great Miscommunication,” which focused on immigration.

Dr. Mark Lyons, elected to the Transylvania University Board of Trustees.