Good for You!

Congratulations to:

Norb Ryan of Versailles, appointed to the Commonwealth Council on Developmental Disabilities.

Brent Edward O’Neill of Lexington, appointed to the Kentucky Geographic Information Advisory Council.

Dr. Kristen Stakelin of Lexington, appointed to the Kentucky Board of Licensed Diabetes Educators.

Molly Elizabeth Caldwell and Kathy Hopkins, both of Lexington, appointed to the State Advisory Committee for the Land and Water Conservation Fund.

The following artists, whose works were chosen for the annual Governor’s Derby Exhibit, on display in the Capitol Rotunda through June 4:

Philis Alvic, Chao Ma, Helen Morrison and Jason Sturgill of Fayette County

Bill Berryman and Kevin Osbourn of Clark County

Robert Hunt and Jennifer Stanley of Madison County


These Fayette County students who took first place awards at the Technology Student Association’s 2018 state conference:

Vykai Forrester, Tim Kern and Gayvon Starks of Lexington Traditional Magnet School:  System Control and Technology Bowl

Alex Brown, Terin Chrisco, Canaan Hunley and Steven Smith of Lexington Traditional Magnet School: Vex Robotics

Gabby Formby, Alayna Fraser, Gabe Mattingly and Hope Meyers, Southern Middle School:  Biotechnology

Troy Nolan, Southern Middle School, CAD Foundations

William Allen, Southern Middle School:Career Prep

William Allen and Gabe Mattingly, Southern Middle School: Challenging Technology Issues:

Justin Hart and Andrew Stewart, Southern Middle School: Coding

Faith Summers, Southern Middle School: Digital Photography

Shaylin Lewis, Southern Middle School: Essays on Technology

Hope Meyers, Southern Middle School:Flight

Luke Day, Andrew Fraser, Bryce Schaffer and Brooks Theis, Southern Middle School: Inventions and Innovations

Colin Clevenger, Cameron Schuster and Jay Wilson, Southern Middle School: Junior Solar Sprint

Shaylin Lewis, Gabe Mattingly and Bryce Schaffer, Southern Middle School: Leadership Strategies

Alayna Fraser, Madi Knapp, Sophia Shelton and Pragya Upreti, Southern Middle School: Medical Technology

Luke Jacobs, Caden Tobin and Dhruv Upreti, Southern Middle School:Microncontroller Design

Zachary Rothrock, Southern Middle School: Prepared Speech

Kasey Burns, Southern Middle School: Promotional Marketing

Madi Knapp and Sophia Shelton, Southern Middle School: Technical Design

William Allen, Adam Huffman, Lucas Poynter and Zachary Rothrock, Southern Middle School: Video Game Design

Luke Jacobs, Davis Miller and Dhruv Upreti, Southern Middle School: Website Design

Emily Jones, Lafayette: Extemporaneous speech

Alex Fields, Emily Jones, Jimmy Rose and Jack Tattershall, Lafayette: On-Demand Video

McKayla Weaver, Lafayette:  Prepared presentation

Helen Pang, Paul Laurence Dunbar: Coding

Connie Waespe of Lafayette High School, who received the Jack Bryden Great Teacher Award from the Rotary Club of Lexington.

Koy Lindsey of Midway University, named River States Conference Baseball Player of the Week.

These Fayette County students, who earned first place awards at the Kentucky Art Education Association’s 2018 all-state competition:

Ally Frederick, Bryan Station:  Ceramics

Caitlin Labiance, Dunbar:  Digital Media

Jessica Harrison, Bryan Station: Fiber Arts/Textile

MacKenzie Varble of Henry Clay: Fashion

Keller Hufana of Henry Clay: Printmaking

Rudolph G. Buchheit, named the next dean of the University of Kentucky College of Engineering.