Applications Accepted for Martha Layne Collins Leadership Award

In 1999,Women Leading Kentucky created the Martha Layne Collins Leadership Award to honor former Governor Martha Layne Collins (1983-1987) for her contributions to the Commonwealth of Kentucky and its people. This award recognizes Kentucky women of achievement who inspire and motivate others through their personal, community and professional lives. The award is presented to two women at the organization’s annual Business & Leadership Conference in May of each year. The typical honoree is at the pinnacle of her career and influence. According to Carol Siler, Executive Director of the organization, winners are chosen using the following criteria: Leadership, mentoring, diversity, commitment to improving lives and giving back to the community.

Governor Collins, who personally presents the award, states “Over the years, so many remarkable women have received this honor. I am always amazed by the level of achievement, passion and leadership displayed by the women who are chosen for the award.”

This year’s Conference will be held on Wednesday, May 20 at the Marriott Griffin Gate in Lexington. Criteria and instructions on how to nominate someone can be found at: The deadline for nominations is February 28, 2020. For more information contact Carol Siler at